Why the world revolves around World Peace.

Image

It would be great if we had world peace but we don’t. I’m not going to say that we have the closest thing because he certainly isn’t, but we have a guy called Metta World Peace. Yes, formerly known as Ron Artest, Metta World Peace, the defensive hustler of a small forward that currently applies his trade for those topsy-turvy Lakers. I think by this stage if you’re a fan of NBA basketball you’d have to be living under a multitude of large boulders not to be aware of the existence of this, quite eccentric, man.

Many people know Metta/Ron for his ‘crazy’ image, and has been known to lash out and do some stupid things but I don’t want to dwell on this because it’s in the past. First of all, Metta had an underrated year this year and to be honest he didn’t put a foot wrong for the Lakers even though he was classed as the weakest player in their starting 5. Secondly, with all this malarkey over Jason Collins and his sexuality, Metta World Peace in only his fashion described the whole thing at a press conference by using his Cookie monster T-Shirt as an example.

“You should be free to act and do what you want to do, as long as it’s not violent, I came here in a Cookie monster shirt because I wanted to. I was going to wear the pants and the hat, too, but I thought you guys would judge me. And I don’t watch Mitch to judge me. But I should have worn it. You should be free to do and act how you want to act.”

Image
( Read More: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/nba/news/20130429/jason-collins-nba-reaction-metta-world-peace/#ixzz2SYI9zD74 )

This was the perfect PERFECT way to give his opinion on the matter, and he gained a serious amount of my respect for it, no matter how many elbows he throws or fans he punches underneath all of the craziness is a very intelligent human being.

Image

 

I’d say the same for controversial figures like Allen Iverson and Russell Westbrook. I mean they leave all they have on the court. No matter what they say or wear they can ball and they do it with all their hearts and with the utmost passion. People say Allen Iverson was stupid and a thug but in the end of the day all the guy done was have cornrows, tattoos and rant about practice. What about his MVP award and all of his scoring titles, what about the fact that he inspired a new style of play or the fact that he’s the reason that half of the NBA wear shooter sleeves?

 Image

Or just because Russell Westbrook comes across as a bit angry, wear Jordan XX8s and the ost ridiculous and crazy pre/postgame outfits. But what about the hustle, athleticism, leadership and sheer talent?

Image
For the record, that’s a really nice shirt.

On the other end I amn’t condoning being a tool on the court because you can use having a screw loose as an excuse. Like KG saying things about Melo’s wife to get into his head or (Again.), starting fights on court.

But embrace eccentricity, because in my opinion the world would be a boring place without people who have the guts to do their own thing. Start a trend, be the next big thing, don’t let anyone hold you back. Look at UM’s Fab Five. Basketball players would still be in short-shorts and the baggy Jordan’s I have on now wouldn’t exist.

Image

As much as I hate black socks I admire the fact that they could rock ’em and not be phased by what someone thinks. As long as it isn’t offensive what’s the harm, if you like it do, wear it. Like Metta said don’t let people judge you. Today I was ballin’ in my Hawaiin shirt and I’ll wear it wherever because, to be honest if you don’t like it I really couldn’t care less.

‘Eccentricity (also called quirkiness or kookiness) refers to unusual or oddbehaviour on the part of an individual. This behavior would typically be perceived as unusual or unnecessary, without being demonstrably maladaptive. Eccentricity is contrasted with “normal” behavior, the nearly universal means by which individuals in society solve given problems and pursue certain priorities in everyday life. People who consistently display benignly eccentric behavior are labeled as “eccentrics”.’

So keep your damn opinions to yourself. I really don’t care if you don’t like my shirt. I do and that’s that.

Image

Peace.

Let me know what you think

