The greatest.

I don’t care who you are, I don’t care what you say or how you say it. Michael who? LeWhat? There’s only one ANSWER in this argument and that’s Allen Iverson. Since I’ve started playing basketball my idol has been AI and that will never change and though I’d said it in the past to much abuse AI is the greatest. He officially retired earlier and although it was coming for a long time, I still wasn’t ready. From Bethel highschool to Georgetown university and eventually to the top of the pecking order in the NBA, AI never had it easy and never made it easy on himself either. From practice rants to falling out with coaches to rumours about money problems and alcohol abuse I’ve stayed true to the answer and that will never change. His poster hangs above my bed and it’s the first thing I see in the morning, so I know who I’m modelling my game around each and every day. He may not be the reason I picked up a basketball at fourteen but he is sure as hell the reason there’s one still in my hands. Since I first spotted him on the cover of SLAM 150 to today it has and always will be in my head that AI is the greatest. Yea there’s Nate Robinson and Spudd Webb who you all know are also idols of mine but they pale in comparison to Iverson who has an MVP award and is only a hair above six feet.

Michael Jordan made people think they could fly, Ray Allen made people think they could shoot and Allen Iverson made people think they could crossover.

image

Let me know what you think

